Tag Archives: Move over slow down

Wrecker Driver Hit & Killed While Loading A Car On I-20

Louisiana State Police say a wrecker driver is dead after he was hit and killed on the shoulder of Interstate 20 on Friday.

According to a spokesman from LSP, the crash happened shortly before 9:15 p.m. Friday on I-20 near the Ouachita/Richland Parish line.

Per LSP, the preliminary investigation revealed the wrecker driver, 65-year-old Lloyd Moore Jr. of Tallulah, was trying to load a disabled vehicle onto his wrecker on the shoulder of the interstate when he was struck by an unknown vehicle.

Moore was pronounced dead at the scene by the Ouachita Parish Coroner’s Office. Toxicology samples were obtained and will be submitted for analysis. The crash remains under investigation

Do You Know The “Move Over Slow Down” Law

We have all been in this situation, driving down the interstate and see a cop or small wreck on the shoulder of the highway. State law requires all vehicles to move one lane away from the “Emergency Vehicle” or slow 20 mph below the posted speed limit. More the often additional wrecks are caused by rubberneckers slowing down to a crawl to get the wreck footage posted on Social Media. The law was put in place to help avoid accidents, not cause more. Please read the law below and follow how it states. Help make sure our first responders go home to their families at the end of the day.

The Texas Transportation Code 545.157 requires drivers nearing stopped emergency vehicles-with lights activated -to either slow down or change lanes.

The law states a driver must either vacate the lane closest to the stopped emergency vehicle if the road has multiple lanes traveling in the same direction or slow down 20 miles per hour below the speed limit. (If the speed limit is below 75 mph the driver must slow down to 55 mph NOT 5 MPH.)

Emergency vehicles include police, emergency medical service, fire vehicles & Tow Trucks.

A violation is punishable by a maximum fine of $200. If the violation results in property damage, the maximum fine increases to $500. If the violation results in bodily injury, the offense is enhanced to a Class B misdemeanor.

The law was passed in the Texas Legislature and went into effect Sept. 1, 2003.

DPS issued more than 41,000 warning and citations last year for violation of the Move Over/Slow Down law